“The Messiah” by Gilbert and Sullivan (recovered excerpt) (c.1995)

Found recently among a pile of Arthur Sullivan’s papers, this brief fragment from a projected Oratorio is all that remains to tantalize music lovers everywhere.

Having taken his disciples to a high place, Jesus reveals to them his real identity in a scene which ranks among the most profoundly moving  the pair were responsible for.

Music: Yum ta-tum ta-tum ta-tum

Jesus: For I am the son of God

Disciples: He is, he is the son of God.

Ta-tum ta-tum ta-tum

Jesus: And though it may seem remarkably odd
I am the son of God.

Disciples: And though it may seem remarkably odd,
He is the son of God.

Ta-tum ta-tum

Jesus: To a virgin named Mary
(A birth singulary)
I came from heaven on high
T’was miserable to be
Born in a stable but
Now who cares? Not I!!
For I am the son of God.

Disciples: He is, He is the son of God

Jesus: And though it may seem remarkably odd
I am the son of God.

Disciples: And though it may seem remarkably odd
He is the son of God.

Jesus: From lepers, loquacious
To gossips, salacious
And miracles aquacious
I’ve been.
And Scribes, pharasaical
With laws, Judaical
Stoning the outcasts
I’ve seen. Yes yes yes

For I am the son of God

Disciples: Hoorah hoorah for the son of God

Jesus: And though it may seem remarkably odd
I am the son of God.

Disciples: And though it may seem remarkably odd
He is the son of god.

For he, himself, has said it
And its greatly to his credit
That he is the Son of God…..

At which point the fragment ends.

About alanspage

what about myself?
This entry was posted in Silly Stuff, Old Sketches Et Al. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

